Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

All Other Software All Other Software
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Ftp!!!

(!)

Member with 233 posts.

Experience: Self Taught Advanced User
21-Jan-2010, 07:41 PM #1
Question Ftp!!!
Ok, my buddy Melvin always need huge files from me. ALWAYS. The way we usually do it is flash drive trading, but that takes like a day (too long).

The files we exchange are usually between 500mb and 2gb, so they are pretty big. [content is usually home movies or zip files full of install packs that he's too lazy to look up himself]

I need a more efficient way to do this. I've tried FTP things before with tremendous failure.

I need someone to walk me through (or give a good basic instruction of) the FTP process. There may be some technical issues, but I'm not sure.

We both have Windows Vista. He has a desktop with a wired internet connection (broadband). I have a laptop and I use a campus wireless connection always and have no access to the router settings.

I'm pretty much clueless on the settings I need to set to make the whole thing work. So, please tell me a good software for this and some settings I need to input to get the thing going.

Thanks! And sorry for making you read this all if you can't help
Computer Specs
Member with 697 posts.

Experience: Advanced
21-Jan-2010, 07:54 PM #2
This topic seems of questionable nature, just to be clear are you asking for assistance to trade illegal files with your friend?

If this is the case, beside the obvious of receiving no help here. Your campus/college network administrators may be monitoring for such illegal activity that breaks most service level agreements as well as the legal implications with the law.
Member with 233 posts.

21-Jan-2010, 08:14 PM #3