Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Apple iPods, iPads, and iPhones Apple iPods, iPads, and iPhones
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > > >

Solved: Ipad 3 - VLC Remote - Safari could not open the page because the server stopp

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 250 posts.

Experience: Beginner
13-Jul-2012, 05:02 AM #1
Question Solved: Ipad 3 - VLC Remote - Safari could not open the page because the server stopp
Hi folks,
My wife has bought me an ipad 3 for my birthday - yay! However I've never used an Ipad before so I'm a new to them.

The main thing that I want to be able to do is to stream music from my PC to my Ipad, but I don't really want to use Itunes (I had Itunes on my PC ages ago and wasn't happy with it). So, I looked for an App that would do the job hopefully!.

I usually use VLC Media player on my PC, so I was happy to find a VLC Remote App for the Ipad that is supposed to let me access my music files on the PC.

I have followed the instructions on http://hobbyistsoftware.com/vlcremot....0.2&port=8080

but to no avail, the pc shows on my Ipad but it doesn't get the VLC "cone" symbol. I have tried adding the computer myself - still the same result. I tried the IP address that works on the PC - http://192.168.0.2:8080 on the Ipad but I just get a message saying "Safari could not open the page because the server stopped responding".

I have even tried changeing the IP address of VLC media player to end in "9090" as suggested on some help page I was reading - still no good.

I decided to search for any reported problems with the "Safari message" as above and came across this website: http://support.citrix.com/article/CTX132798 but the information shown on there is a bit too technical for my understanding of PC's and Ipads!