Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Apple Mac Apple Mac
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Differences on Mac and Windows

(!)

Member with 89 posts.

Experience: Beginner
05-Jan-2005, 11:07 PM #1
Differences on Mac and Windows
Can someone school me on the differences between Macintosh and windows?
Senior Member with 309 posts.

Experience: Advanced with software; Intermediate with hardware
06-Jan-2005, 10:15 AM #2
Boy, you ask the simple ones, don't you?

Both are good machines. Some people prefer one to the other (wars have been started for less!). I work on both computers, and I'm a graphic designer and illustrator. I prefer the Macs for graphics because their hardware and software were designed around a graphic interface. Tasks that I do for my job seem smoother and work easier than the same tasks on a PC (even with their graphics interface). I have other friends who think the exact opposite.

I bought a Mac for home, eventhough there are PCs out there that are less expensive and the majority of users own PCs. I love the ease of use, and the graphics capabilities of Macs (and I've always been a bit of a rebel). Also, Macs seem to be easier to troubleshoot than PCs, because the interface is user friendly. Again, someone else will think the exact opposite!

All kinds of software is available for the Macs, including games, database, project management, Microsoft Office, utilities and Internet applications, etc. The only thing that might be problematic is if you need to use a statistics program, you might be better off with a PC because the PC world (from what I understand) has better statistics software. (I don't know if that's still accurate.)

So really, it becomes an issue of what do you want to do with a computer? If it's straightforward word processing, spreadsheets, etc., go with a PC. If you really want to rock on the graphics, go with a Mac.