Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Business Applications Business Applications
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Modeless userform in Mac Excel 2011

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 2 posts.

Experience: Advanced
15-Sep-2011, 09:31 PM #1
Modeless userform in Mac Excel 2011
I'm an experienced VB-Windows programmer, trying to get started with Macintosh Excel 2011. I can't make a form modeless. The code is simple--I have a worksheet and a UserForm1 that has nothing in it except a label that says "test". This is the only sub:

Private Sub Worksheet_Activate()
MsgBox "before"
UserForm1.Show
MsgBox "After"
Stop
End Sub

The output displays "Before", then launches the UserForm1 window, but never gets to "After" unless I close the UserForm1 window. I'd like to have UserForm1 stay open but allow me to enter values in the worksheet.

I've tried replacing the UserForm1.Show line with everything I can think of:
UserForm1.Show 0
UserForm1.Show vbModeless
UserForm1.Show False

...but nothing changes. I expect I'm missing something simple, and I'd appreciate someone pointing out what it is.

BTW, as far as I can find, Excel 2011 does not have a ShowModal property. But it does seem to know what Modal means--at least it offers "([Modal])" as a choice when I type "UserForm1.Show".

Thanks very much.
Member with 4,694 posts.

15-Sep-2011, 09:55 PM #2
I don't think Modeless forms are supported on the Mac. I have heard of this same issue before years ago with previous versions of Excel. All three lines of code you provided should work without issue on a PC.

Rollin
Computer Specs
Junior Member with 2 posts.

16-Sep-2011, 02:59 PM #3
Thanks. You are probably right that Excel 2011 does not support modeless forms. That would explain the behavior of my system. I have not been able to find that explicitly said in the Excel 2011 help info.
As Seen On