Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Business Applications Business Applications
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Building an access database

(!)

Member with 69 posts.

23-Apr-2012, 10:01 PM #1
Unhappy Building an access database
Hi all,
I've just started a new job and my manager want me to build a access program. I have never built a program before or have any great knowledge in doing so, but I have work on access before (never took a class). I have started the program but I think I did things backward. I created the table just how I want it, the form is working fine expect one field I can't get to work how I want. The problem is first when the information is inputted into form some of the combo box and bond box with formula do not generate in table, second I can't get them to show on queries either, last am clues less on what to do with report and queries.
(background information)
This database have to pull information from an original excel sheet. Where working with retirees who is still receiving a discount for insurance. discount is base on year of service, I will need to generate a report for the insurance company and also to our finance company so they can know what to pay to what department. (I'm lost) Any help will be greatly appreciated been working on this for 3 weeks.
OBP OBP is offline OBP is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions.
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 18,619 posts.

24-Apr-2012, 06:12 AM #2
blessnhappy, welcome to the Forum.
I have a question, why does "This database have to pull information from an original excel sheet."?

To get back to the Design, it sounds like you have set up combo boxes in the table, probably with value lists, this can be confusing and is not maintainable other than by an Access Programmer.
Ideally you should have a table for each combo with a Form for adding new or editing the old records.