Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

I need access help :(

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 1 posts.

Experience: Beginner
06-Jun-2012, 03:08 PM #1
I need access help :(
Hello. I am brand new to Access, and although I have been watching videos and reading many forums, I can't seem to find the information I need to complete my project.

My company manufactures and ships clothing. We get many orders everyday, and so far we had a program made for us that stored all our products, and could bring them up by typing in short number. We could then print it out, and see what needed to be made. That program has been failing recently so we are switching to access.

I have created a table for all our customers, and a table for our products.
I need to be able to take information from both of those tables and somehow put together a order I can print out.

I greatly appreciate the help,

-PatricaWolf.
Computer Specs
Member with 20 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
06-Jun-2012, 04:26 PM #2
Right now, it seems like you have all the information you need for customers and products, but no link between the two. Do you have any tables that contain the orders you have? All this is going to be driven by relationships. Once you have the infrastructure built, pulling the information out should be easy. I'm barely an intermediate user, so I don't want to guide you wrong, but I can tell you how I would do this. Hopefully someone else will answer with a better answer than me though.

Product Table
- Product ID
- Product Description
- Other pertinent information

Customer Table

- Customer ID
- Name, etc

Orders Table

- Order ID
- Customer ID
- Date requested
- Date to be picked/made
- Date fulfilled
- Anything else about the order overall

OrderProd
- Order ID
- Product ID
- Quantity Ordered