Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Business Applications Business Applications
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Access 2007 randomly new Newrow does not appear upon editing Newrow

(!)

Member with 21 posts.

Experience: Advanced
07-Jun-2012, 10:44 AM #1
Access 2007 randomly new Newrow does not appear upon editing Newrow
This is a new one for me and I've been developing with Access for about 15 years. This problem is with Access 2007.

I have a subform in datasheet view. After entering something into a particular field of the Newrow row, the program undoes the changed row (Me.Undo), filters the records and puts the user back on the Newrow row.

As soon as the user starts typing anything into any field, what should happen is that another Newrow should appear, so that he can enter another record after this one. However, this only happens some of the time. Other times, when I type something, the pencil appears as it should for this first Newrow that I am editing, but another Newrow does not appear. If I tab or click away from the row to a previous row, the pencil goes away as it should, but a new Newrow never appears.

I have debug code that tells me that while I'm on this Newrow row, MyForm.AllowAdditions is still True, and MyForm.NewRecord is still True. If I move off to a previous row and back, MyForm.NewRecord changes to False as it should and MyForm.AllowAdditions stays True.

This problem seems to be totally unpredictable and random. I can enter the same inputs and sometimes the new Newrow appears and sometimes it doesn't.

So what to do?

Thanks
OBP OBP is offline OBP is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions.
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 18,509 posts.

07-Jun-2012, 11:01 AM #2
friendlyfriend, welcome to the Forum.
Another quirk of wonderful Access 2007.
Have you Compacted & Repaired the database?