Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Business Applications Business Applications
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: "file format is not valid" error message

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 18 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
03-Mar-2007, 10:40 PM #1
Solved: "file format is not valid" error message
I am still using Excel 97 on Windows XP. I have been keeping a daily log in Excel for two years now. Yesterday I tried to open the file to make an entry and I received this message; "2006-07 Log book.xls: file format is not valid." Any idea what could have happened and how to retrieve the file. I checked all the forums I could find on the subject, but none helped. I have a lot of valuable info in that file and would sure hate to lose it. Thanks for any help.

Regards;
countrydaddy
Member with 17,584 posts.

04-Mar-2007, 05:29 AM #2
The immediate answer would be that the file has become corrupt at the last save. This happens with any file from time to time.

This is why you MUST have copies of important data stored off the PC hard drive, as hard drives themselves also die without warning. Data that only exists on the hard drive is data that you do not care about losing.

There are many programs that "might" recover the data, most are not free.
None will give a guarantee, but before you start at least make a copy of the corrupt file now, so that any extraction of data that you try will not make it worse.

Look here for a start
http://www.freedownloadscenter.com/Best/xls-repair.html

This one allows you to try it as a demo, to see if it works. Only if it does would you purchase it:
http://www.cimaware.com/main/product...FR1Bggod4mHz2Q
ISys ISys is offline ISys has a Profile Picture
Junior Member with 3 posts.

Experience: Advanced
04-Mar-2007, 07:03 AM #3