Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Business Applications Business Applications
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

How to make Excel send email alerts to Outlook

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 3 posts.

Experience: Beginner
15-May-2007, 02:02 PM #1
Cool How to make Excel send email alerts to Outlook
I created an excel workbook and would like to have excel automatically send me a reminder to my Outlook email when certain due dates are coming up.

Is this possible? I tried playing around with Macros but I'm not good at it. Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

respectfully,
Edward
OBP OBP is offline OBP is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions.
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 18,545 posts.

15-May-2007, 05:53 PM #2
Edward, this will only work while the Excel Workbook is open.
But it can be done, in fact there may well already be a post on here.
Member with 4,693 posts.

Experience: Advanced
15-May-2007, 07:23 PM #3
As OBP already stated, you can do this quite easily with a VBA macro but you will need some type of event to trigger the macro. Do you want the macro to run when each time the workbook is opened? Do you want it to run each time a change is made to one of the cells? Please provided more details and post a sample workbook if possible so we can see what you are talking about. If the workbook simply needs to remain open and the code run at intervals we may need to include some type of timer control or OnTime event to fire the code at your designated times.

Regards,
Rollin
Computer Specs

16-May-2007, 01:48 PM #4
How to make Excel send email alerts to Outlook
Rollin,