Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Business Applications Business Applications
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Problem with Access forms using multiple tables

(!)

Member with 168 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
04-Jun-2007, 12:40 AM #1
I have a problem creating an Access form for data entry into multiple tables.

i am running Win XP/Home SP 2 (the entire version description is Version 5.1 (Build 2600.xpsp_sp_2_gdr.070227-2254 : Service Pack 2)).

The Access version is 2000 (9.0.2720)

I am trying to create a form for data entry into fields for 3 different tables. I searched this forum and found nothing relevant. I have not found the sample databases helpful. Although reasonably skilled on applications such as Word, I am a novice with databases.

I am trying to learn how to accomplish this task without using the wizards. I first tried to create the form without using a wizard. Here is the sequence using Create from Design View:

Click on New/Design View

Right click on Form space (not Section Detail space)

Click on Properties/click in Record Source field and then on Table 1 from the drop down box.

The Table 1 field names show up in the Field List window.

Drag desired field names to form

Click on Properties/click in Record Source field and then on Table 2 from the drop down box.

Click on Properties/click in Record Source field and then on Table 3 from the drop down box.

The form looks acceptable in Design View. In Form View, all the fields are displayed, but the last Record Source selected (in this case, Table 3) has been applied to the entire form (not just the fields from Table 3), so the fields in the form from the previous two tables are not properly linked to the appropriate tables.

Then I tried using the wizard. Here is the sequence using the Form Wizard:

From the Database window, click on Forms in the Objects panel.