Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Digital Photography & Imaging Digital Photography & Imaging
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

HP TrueVision HD Webcam issues????

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 9 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
20-Sep-2011, 05:50 PM #1
Exclamation HP TrueVision HD Webcam issues????
Okay, please bare with me on this because I am so frustrated at this point that I don't even know if what I am going to ask makes any sense,

I have an HP pavilion laptop dv6t that I have only had for 3 weeks at the very most. (I love it by the way)
I am a freshman in college and I skype with my little sister every day and today is the first day I have had this problem and I have no idea what caused it or how to fix it.

For about an hour I thought it was just a black screen, then come to find out, it wasn't black, but just very very dark and when I got up very close to it (my face almost touching the camera) I could see myself but with a strong red/black tint. Naturally, I went to the settings and tried to adjust the brightness or contrast and they made a difference on the video as a whole, but didn't help with the red/black tint in the slightest bit.
So then I just restored the settings to default and this did absolutely nothing to fix my problem, just restored all the brightness and contrast that I had messed with trying to fix it.

I have no idea what happened. It happened while I was on skype. So here is what I did in the 15 minutes before this happened:
I downloaded manycam and was using it to show my desktop on skype and everything was working fine
I tried to enhance the video using the pre-installed program of Cyberlink Youcam

After finishing showing my desktop,I promptly uninstalled manycam and went about doing my own thing on facebook or ebay or whatever, all while still on skype with my sister.