Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Digital Photography & Imaging Digital Photography & Imaging
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: 16GB for Fujifilm F30


(!)

CrazyComputerMan's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 13,649 posts.
THREAD STARTER
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England, UK :)
Experience: Advanced
12-Jul-2012, 10:17 PM #1
Solved: 16GB for Fujifilm F30
Just brought a xD card adapter for my Fujifilm F30. As I will be going to Melbourne and I would love to take some filming and things.

Yestersday I spoke with Jessop about this and she say inserting 16GB microsd with xd card would crash my camera. The only maximum size for my camera is 2GB

Is there way that I might could upgrade my firmwire of my camera this might accept higher size of card? It just that I cannot afford a new camera.

Tho if it had to be 2GB but I'm still happy with it as 2gb microsd are cheaper then xD
__________________
I'm still here! Proudly to be part of TSG, It's just that I'm busy.
Elvandil's Avatar
Computer Specs
Moderator with 51,993 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vermont
Experience: "Been through the mill."
12-Jul-2012, 11:01 PM #2
I doubt it. I don't think that firmware is involved, but design. I don't know specifically why there was a cutoff at the 2 GB level, but I have a few older devices that do not support anything larger, including one card reader. It seems to be a hardware issue, so just stock up on the cheaper 2 GB's.
__________________
Microsoft MVP
異驚の界世 ípןɹoʍ ǝɥʇ ɟo sɹǝpuoʍ ǝɥʇ ɟo ǝuo sı ǝpoɔıun ʞuıɥʇ ı
allnodcoms's Avatar
allnodcoms   (Danny) allnodcoms is offline allnodcoms has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 610 posts.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hertfordshire - England
Experience: Advanced
14-Jul-2012, 03:48 AM #3
It is not possible to upgrade the camera, as firmware is not involved. The limit is imposed by the size of the address registers on the chip, they can only hold a certain number of bits and these bits represent addressable storage space. Basically numbers bigger than 2GB just won't fit...

Danny
Bernardo's Avatar
Member with 4,221 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Out there somewhere
Experience: Been around the block
18-Jul-2012, 11:55 AM #4
You can safely test it. It will either recognize it, or it won't. Period.
CrazyComputerMan's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 13,649 posts.
THREAD STARTER
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England, UK :)
Experience: Advanced
18-Jul-2012, 11:43 PM #5
Marking as solved as brought a xD card adapter and if it can't using the bigger I would stick to 2gb and microsd are very cheap on cards rather then xD but the adapter wont simply fit the camera and this is pointless so will be sticking with 2gb and transferring photo to USB 64gb regularly
As Seen On

BBC, Reader's Digest, PC Magazine, Today Show, Money Magazine
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.


(clock)
THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Search Tech Support Guy

Find the solution to your
computer problem!




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


WELCOME
You Are Using: Server ID
Trusted Website Back to the Top ↑