Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Digital Photography & Imaging Digital Photography & Imaging
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Photoshop Freezing Up....

(!)

Junior Member with 1 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
18-Feb-2005, 05:56 AM #1
Photoshop Freezing Up....
Hello.
Hopefully I have posted this in the right place, I am a newbie to this forum, hopefully you can help me.

Anyways, My Photoshop CS keeps freezing up. When I say freezing up, I mean that I can open it, but it doesn't finish loading properly. I have waited a while, but nothing happens. It used to say that I was low on virtual memory, but now it doesn't, but it still keeps happening.

I am on Windows XP Home Edition and thanks in advance.
Member with 6,832 posts.

18-Feb-2005, 09:02 AM #2
Welcome - you found the right place.

Photoshop lockups usually involve virtual memory. Virtual memory is just space on your hard drive that Photoshop can use to work with after it runs itself out of RAM. Photoshop calls this virtual memory a scratch disk.

If you have more than one drive or partition on your computer, Photoshop probably gave you a message when you originally installed it that you would be better off with your scratch disk on a drive other than the one Photoshop is installed on. If you have more than one hard drive or partition: Edit>Preferences>Plug-ins and Scratch Disk. Put your primary scratch disk on a partition other than your C drive that has plenty of space. Photoshop calls your C drive the “Startup” drive.

If you have only one drive and there is plenty of space on it you shouldn’t really be having virtual memory problems. But any time you use virtual memory Photoshop slows to a crawl. If you intend using Photoshop more than just occasionally you would do best to buy some more RAM.
Junior Member with 12 posts.

01-Mar-2005, 01:14 PM #3
Also Photoshop "freezing" on startup