Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Digital Photography & Imaging Digital Photography & Imaging
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Software to Import Pics from Digital Camera

(!)

Member with 35 posts.

30-Jul-2005, 07:45 PM #1
Software to Import Pics from Digital Camera
I'm new to the digital imaging scene and I plan to but a simple digital camera in the future. When looking at reviews for certain cameras, I noticed many comment on the bundled software provided by camera manufactuers. I am looking seriously into a Sony camera, but the software reviews are far less than favorable. My question then becomes: Do I have to use the bundled software to import/extract the images from the camera? Once on my hard drive, I know I can transfer the images to another program (i.e. Photoshop, Paint Shop, The Gimp) for editing purposes. It seems like I could just copy the images using Explorer, but I am obviously not sure about this. Also, if it is possible not to use the provided software to import the photos, is there another piece of software that works well?

Thanks in advance,
Kevin
Account Disabled with 8,373 posts.

30-Jul-2005, 09:03 PM #2
There is no need to use the camera software to transfer the images to your computer

assuming you are using XP just transfer with explorer then edit/view with the program of your choice...

buck
Member with 21 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
30-Jul-2005, 09:52 PM #3
Smile Picasa2
Quote:
Originally Posted by kev7706