Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Digital Photography & Imaging Digital Photography & Imaging
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Jasc Paint Shop Pro 8: Transparency

(!)

Troublesome_x Troublesome_x is offline Troublesome_x has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Junior Member with 6 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
02-Nov-2008, 01:13 PM #1
Unhappy Jasc Paint Shop Pro 8: Transparency
Uhm, hey, I'm new to this and my English is really poor, so I'll try to make myself clear.

I use Paint Shop Pro 8 to edit images, photography and so on, and basically I'm used to the program and use it quite easily. Recently, I've been requested a signature with a transparent bakground and I've been reading forums and tutorials about how to do it. I learned how to turn the opacity on (I don't understand most of it or how to specifically do it but it works), but there's one little problem.

The image is converted to a 256 color image, loosing most of its quality and ruining the sig.

So my question is, is there a way of doing a transparent bankground without reducing the signature to a low quality image?
I've tried a lot of stuff and it led me here, hoping someone could help. Sorry for the image spam ^^'

Thanks.
Account Disabled with 8,373 posts.

02-Nov-2008, 01:30 PM #2
have you tried saving as a .PNG ... it's a much better quality format that supports transparency

is it only half transparent in your screenshot for a reason
Computer Specs

02-Nov-2008, 01:45 PM #3
I've tried saving in lots of formats and the image just kept getting even worse. In PNG the background does appear transparent, but the image has still a bad quality, not the original quality in which I did the signature.

02-Nov-2008, 01:54 PM #4
how big is the original... and what size do you need as a final?

post the original here if you're comfortable with that so we can have a look