Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Digital Photography & Imaging Digital Photography & Imaging
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Adding Text To .JPG Images

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 48 posts.

Experience: Beginner
29-Nov-2009, 01:31 PM #1
Adding Text To .JPG Images
What's the best practice for placing text on an image?

For example: I would like to place 2009 by Dad's Name at the bottom right corner of every art image on my dads website.

I'm still learning how to use GIMP and Inkscape and I was wondering if I could accomplish this task by using either one or both programs. Preferably, I would like the text to be in .GIF form so that I can adjust the size accordingly depending on the image I place it on. Is this possible?
Member with 199 posts.

Experience: Advanced
29-Nov-2009, 05:53 PM #2
Why not open the image up in Paint and insert text like that?
Computer Specs
Member with 48 posts.

29-Nov-2009, 06:15 PM #3
I guess I just wanted to make things complicated, lol. Really though, I would like to save the text as a .GIF file so that I could use it on other images. Not really sure if this is possible in Paint. Beside that, I deleted Paint off my computer a long time ago. I'm sure I'll figure something out sooner or later. Thanks for the suggestion, anyway.
Computer Specs
Member with 47 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
29-Nov-2009, 06:20 PM #4
Paint would be a lot of work, since you want them on several pictures.

There is a bunch of Watermark software out there, here is a bunch i found with a quick google search, feel free to search for yourself! These should let you watermark a bunch of pictures at the same time.
Computer Specs
Member with 48 posts.

29-Nov-2009, 10:31 PM #5
Thanks for the awesome tip, Ronnrein. I've never heard of watermark software until today. I'll look into it some more and let you know how everything turns out. Thanks again.