Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Digital Photography & Imaging Digital Photography & Imaging
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

PS CS3 used to work great, now it's slow. Why?

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 11 posts.

Experience: Beginner
29-Apr-2010, 12:25 PM #1
PS CS3 used to work great, now it's slow. Why?
I have been using photoshop cs3 for about 2 years on my current computer. About a month ago, it started running more slowly. When I crop, save a jpg or png file, or run certain actions, it used to take just a few seconds for the process to happen. Now a green progress bar appears and it quickly gets to the halfway point but takes a few minutes to complete the process. I can't figure out why.

Last night I downloaded anti-spyware and anti-malware programs and ran them. I had used up most of my hard drive storing photos, but a month ago I got an external drive and removed most of them so I now have 56.8 GB free on my C drive. I scanned my disk and defragmented last night as well. My computer does seem faster overall since doing all of that, but it didn't change the problem in CS3.

I found an old thread on here that said to change preferences in photoshop to increase the RAM that photoshop can use. I set mine at the maximum number of the desired range.

Any ideas? Thank you in advance for whatever you may be able to offer.
Noyb   (Jay) Noyb is offline Noyb is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions.
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 19,218 posts.

29-Apr-2010, 12:50 PM #2
Quote:
Originally Posted by busymama View Post
Wow! I think I just figured out how to solve my problem with my slow-running cs3.
How ???
I couldn't think of anything to tell you ..

And welcome to the TSG Forum
Computer Specs

29-Apr-2010, 01:26 PM #3
Thanks. Maybe if I uninstall it and reinstall it? I don't really want to do it if I don't have to, but maybe?