Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Earlier Versions of Windows Earlier Versions of Windows
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

CURSOR keeps "FLICKERING"???

(!)

Member with 880 posts.

16-Jun-2000, 01:08 AM #1
For some reason my cursor keeps flickering, rather than staying on continuously. Any ideas on how I may correct this problem?

Thanks very much
DAVE
Junior Member with 3 posts.

16-Jun-2000, 08:03 AM #2
Dave....perhaps you have too many programs running in the background.......but I'm no expert....lol

Leesa ( ! )
Member with 8,974 posts.

16-Jun-2000, 11:03 AM #3
The problem may be as HOTTBUNZ suggested you have too many applications open and Windows is task switching. It could also be you are low on free disk space, your hard drive is fragmented, your virtual memory size is too small, you have a bad or corrupted mouse driver, another application is misbehaving, or you have the save updates option set to high on an application, such as in Word.

Let us know if you need help checking these items out. Start by closing all other applications and see if the problem goes away. Run MSCONFIG if using Windows 98, select the Startup tab, and uncheck any option you may not need to lower overhead. Run ScanDisk and Defrag.

Good luck. Dan-O
Member with 880 posts.

21-Jun-2000, 06:19 PM #4
OK....first I want to thank everyone for helping me here at the TSG bulletin board. Unfortunatly, after trying many of the suggestions I have not solved my problem of a flickering and "unstable" cursor.

I have turned off most of my start-up programs, ran scan-disk, defrag and noted that my 20gb HD is only at 5% of capacity. And BTW...I NEVER run more than one application at a time.