Live Chat & Podcast at 1:00PM Eastern on Sunday!
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
General Security
Tag Cloud
access acer asus bios bsod computer crash desktop driver drivers error ethernet excel freeze gaming hard drive hardware hdmi internet laptop malware memory modem monitor motherboard network printer problem ram registry router security slow software sound toshiba trojan ubuntu 11.10 uninstall usb video virus vista wifi windows windows 7 windows 7 32 bit windows 7 64 bit windows xp wireless
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
Solved: For the security pros

Reply  
Thread Tools
katabby's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 230 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Experience: Intermediate
27-Aug-2007, 01:36 AM #1
Solved: For the security pros
I just checked a link from pcmag.com for a site called processlibrary.com which seems harmless enough. their process scan shows wininit.exe as a variant of the wolf-16? trojan. what gets me is that further info links to a site that wants to sell you registryboost 2.0.
Now I'm not going to buy a registry cleaner based on what I think are scare tactics. I thought wininit.exe is a legitimate windows startup process.
Whats the real scoop on this?
thanks
JohnWill's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 110,212 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Eastern PA, USA
Experience: Advanced age & experience
27-Aug-2007, 11:08 AM #2
WININIT.EXE appears nowhere in my XP installation. Microsoft appear to think it's a virus as well: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299332

Other references: http://www.auditmypc.com/process/wininit.asp

It is indeed malware.

Now, you don't need that registry cleaner to fix this, so that's not something I'd rush out and buy!
__________________
Remember: Data you don't have at least two copies of is data you don't care about.

Microsoft MVP - User Desktop Experience
katabby's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 230 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Experience: Intermediate
27-Aug-2007, 12:37 PM #3
screen print
Attached Thumbnails
Solved: For the security pros-untitled.jpg  
katabby's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 230 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Experience: Intermediate
27-Aug-2007, 12:42 PM #4
don't know if thats the right way to add a screen print but it works.
i read the links you posted last night before I posted here, but this sure looks legit to me.
by the way, I'm using Vista Home Premium
katabby's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 230 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Experience: Intermediate
27-Aug-2007, 07:46 PM #5
microsofts one care live, trend micro's housecall, and ca's e-z trust all show a clean system. superantispyware found a lot of tracking cookies that spybot s&d didn't find.
I'm not convinced it's malware.
It would be interesting if other vista users went to www.processlibrary.com and see what processes it finds running.the link above for the pc audit is the one trying to sell registrybooster.
Frank4d's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 8,718 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: So. California
Experience: Since MS-Dos 3.0
28-Aug-2007, 02:20 AM #6
The screenshot in post #3 indicates the OS is Vista, and several searches indicate Vista runs wininit.exe at startup (see about 1/2 way down here: http://www.microsoft.com/technet/tec...l/default.aspx under "Startup Processes"). My guess it is safe.
katabby's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 230 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Experience: Intermediate
28-Aug-2007, 04:26 AM #7
Thank you
The links from JohnWill, which I found before posting here, make it seem like it is malware.
Sure can get confusing around here.
Reply

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Search Tech Support Guy

Find the solution to your
computer problem!




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.
Thread Tools



Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter TechGuy.tv TechGuy.tv Mobile TSG Mobile
You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 PM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2011 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.