Congratulations to AcaCandy on her 100,000th post!
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
 
Tag Cloud
acer black screen blue screen boot bsod computer connection crash css dell driver drivers email error ethernet excel explorer firefox firefox 3 game hard drive internet internet explorer itunes laptop linux malware monitor network networking nvidia outlook outlook 2003 outlook 2007 outlook express partition problem router slow software sound trojan usb video virus vista windows windows vista windows xp wireless
General Security
Search
Search in:
 
Advanced Search
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
phished?


HELLO AND WELCOME! Before you can post your question, you'll have to register -- it's completely free! Click here to join today! We highly recommend that you print a copy of our Guide for New Members. Enjoy!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Cvol's Avatar
Member with 50 posts.
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Experience: Intermediate
06-Feb-2008, 11:03 AM #1
phished?
Hello, I received a e-mail from Trend Micro regarding a yearly update to their Internet Security Suit. I had purchased this product thru Digital River as a download a year ago.
The message was a receipt for a purchase of the yearly update. The time of purchase was 1:48am. Like most people, I was sleeping at that time. So, I visit there website provided thru a link in the message. I proceed to view this invoice within Trend Micro's website. When I submitted the order number to retrieve the invoice, the site indicates that the order dosn't exist? Is it possible that the company automatically bills my credit card for the update yearly??
I did not enter any personal information but I suspect this is a phishing attempt?
I intend to resolve this with there customer support.
Thanks for any reply's!
AcaCandy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 100,030 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV & Acapulco, Mexico
Experience: Advanced
06-Feb-2008, 11:28 AM #2
http://corporate.digitalriver.com/st...ctionName.home

Try looking for the order number on DR's website. And yes, sometimes companies just auto renew things.
Cvol's Avatar
Member with 50 posts.
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Experience: Intermediate
06-Feb-2008, 12:09 PM #3
Thanks for the info AcaCandy, I've discovered that they do indeed have a "auto-renew" feature that must be enabled by default! I'll blame this one on me for not knowing about this sooner. I resolved this with TM customer support and got credited for this update I never needed. You will have to "opt-out" of the auto-renewal or you will continue to be billed every year.
Thanks Again

Problem solved!
AcaCandy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 100,030 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV & Acapulco, Mexico
Experience: Advanced
06-Feb-2008, 12:11 PM #4
Thanks for the follow up.

I hate it when that happens. It should default to NOT auto renew. I've been snagged like that too on music download websites.

You can mark the thread solved using the THREAD TOOLS drop down menu.
Closed Thread

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who help people like you solve computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.



Thread Tools


You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 PM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.