There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
 
Tag Cloud
antivirus audio avg avg 8 bios boot browser bsod computer cpu crash css dell desktop driver drivers dvd email error excel explorer firefox firefox 3 freeze game graphics hard drive hardware hijackthis hjt install internet internet explorer itunes javascript keyboard lan laptop malware missing monitor msn network networking openoffice outlook outlook 2003 outlook express php popups problem router screen seo slow sound sp3 spyware trojan usb video virus vista vundo windows windows vista windows xp winxp wireless word
General Security
Search
Search in:
 
Advanced Search
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
Firewall security warning.


HELLO AND WELCOME! Before you can post your question, you'll have to register -- it's completely free! Click here to join today! We highly recommend that you print a copy of our Guide for New Members. Enjoy!

 
Thread Tools
supremacy's Avatar
Junior Member with 1 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2008
06-May-2008, 11:39 AM #1
Firewall security warning.
Somebody is scanning your computer.
Your computer's TCP ports:
8000, 1080, 8080, and 80 have been scanned from 221.1.209.70..


My question is, how severe is this, and what could be causing it. Like a virus, spyware, some nerd who found my IP address etc..

Edit: Also is there a risk of keylogger type activity? I type in 10 different passwords a day for different things, and some of it is very important to me.
AcaCandy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 97,133 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV & Acapulco, Mexico
Experience: Advanced
06-May-2008, 01:28 PM #2
http://www.security-forums.com/viewtopic.php?t=52554

Hi and welcome. You shouldn't post at two different sites with the same question, as many of the same security folks browse more than one site, and you are just tying up unnecessary resources that could be better served helping others.
__________________
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop
My Website: http://www.casalasvegas.us/
My Worksite:http://www.supportspace.com/home/exp...ofile/AcaCandy
Limited Time First Session is FREE using link below.
http://www.supportspace.com/?aiu=Gen...FQE4GgodlFj1tQ
lunarlander's Avatar
Senior Member with 262 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
06-May-2008, 07:30 PM #3
They are just trying to see what you have running. Scanning doesn't do any harm, but they maybe doing their homework preparing for an attack.

Keyloggers doesnt come into the picture here yet. If and when they have successfully invaded your machine, then they may install a keylogger.
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 PM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.