Live Chat & Podcast at 1:00PM Eastern on Sunday!
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
General Security
Tag Cloud
access acer asus bios bsod computer crash driver drivers error ethernet excel freeze gaming gpu hard drive hardware hdmi internet laptop mac malware memory monitor motherboard music network printer problem ram registry router server slow software sound trojan ubuntu 11.10 uninstall usb video virus vista wifi windows windows 7 windows 7 32 bit windows 7 64 bit windows xp wireless
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
scam email Outlook Express Service Change?

Reply  
Thread Tools
steppenwolf's Avatar
Senior Member with 2,170 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: usa
Experience: Intermediate
18-Jun-2008, 10:19 AM #1
scam email Outlook Express Service Change?
what does it mean? some email i got


i say its phishing

Dear Microsoft Outlook Express customer,

You may have received an e-mail from us letting you know that Microsoft is planning to retire the DAV protocol that Outlook Express uses to access Windows Live Hotmail. In response to customer feedback requesting more time to evaluate alternative solutions, we have decided to postpone retiring DAV and we are investigating other alternatives for accessing Windows Live Hotmail via Outlook Express. This means that if you use Outlook Express to access your Windows Live Hotmail account, you will continue to be able to do so beyond the previously announced June 30 transition deadline. We will be sure to update you once we have additional plans to share and early enough in advance to help ensure a smooth transition in the future.

Additionally, Outlook Express customers that use Windows Vista or Windows XP are always welcome to download and use our next generation free email client, Windows Live Mail, providing the familiarity of Outlook Express and much more. You can download the new client at http://get.live.com/wlmail/overview.

We appreciate your feedback, and encourage you to continue to provide it.

Sincerely,

Windows Live Mail Team
Microsoft respects your privacy. To learn more, please read our online Privacy Statement.

Microsoft Corporation, One Microsoft Way, Redmond, WA 98052
__________________
if it looks like a mad max world it probably is
shergar6837's Avatar
Junior Member with 21 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Experience: Advanced
18-Jun-2008, 10:31 AM #2
I think it's genuine, check this thread out http://www.microsoft.com/communities...&cr=&sloc=&p=1
steppenwolf's Avatar
Senior Member with 2,170 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: usa
Experience: Intermediate
18-Jun-2008, 11:00 AM #3
its all greek to me
TechOutsider's Avatar
Computer Specs
Account Disabled with 303 posts.
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Florida
Experience: Advanced
19-Jun-2008, 11:16 AM #4
It's legit. At least the link is.
rangerdud105's Avatar
Member with 41 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Experience: Intermediate
20-Jun-2008, 12:46 AM #5
It should be legit since it's from live.com (aka windows live). To be sure, copy/paste link.
Reply

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Search Tech Support Guy

Find the solution to your
computer problem!




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.
Thread Tools



Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter TechGuy.tv TechGuy.tv Mobile TSG Mobile
You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:04 PM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2011 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.