There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
 
Tag Cloud
access audio avg avg 8 bios blue screen boot browser bsod computer cpu crash css dell desktop driver drivers dvd email error excel explorer firefox firefox 3 freeze gimp graphics hard drive hardware hijackthis hjt install internet internet explorer itunes keyboard laptop macro malware missing monitor network networking outlook outlook 2003 outlook 2007 outlook express password popups problem problems router seo server slow sound sp3 spyware trojan usb video virtumonde virus vista vundo windows windows vista windows xp winxp wireless
General Security
Search
Search in:
 
Advanced Search
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
How'd They Know?


HELLO AND WELCOME! Before you can post your question, you'll have to register -- it's completely free! Click here to join today! We highly recommend that you print a copy of our Guide for New Members. Enjoy!

 
Thread Tools
Rivera42's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 609 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Strong Island, New York
Experience: I Know That I Don't Know
24-Jun-2008, 05:03 AM #1
How'd They Know?
When you go to malwarebytes.org, their download link redirects to a site marked "red" in McAfee SiteAdvisor, brother something dot com I think. Since I didn't want to risk anything, I went on TSG and did a search for MBAM because I know the link is posted rather often and I assume they post clean links here.

So I found this thread.

And I'm stumped, how did the admin figure out so quickly they couldn't help that user? I mean I can't figure it out, and now I'm curious.
__________________


---> Please click Refresh; I edit my posts frequently. <---


Your new best friend: the F-11 key

Best Default Homepage For IE, EVER: http://www.urbandictionary.com/defin...ernet+explorer

You Can Photograph A Rainbow!

New original pictures of 19th/20th century technology
Kitch's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,602 posts.
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
24-Jun-2008, 01:08 PM #2
Maybe the poster sent a PM rather than declare it on the forum?
Rivera42's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 609 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Strong Island, New York
Experience: I Know That I Don't Know
24-Jun-2008, 01:29 PM #3
Oh. I was thinking it was some ninja trick deciphering a line in the Hijack log.
Kitch's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,602 posts.
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
24-Jun-2008, 01:41 PM #4
Or maybe cybertech has ESP ...
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:52 PM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.