Live Chat & Podcast at 1:00PM Eastern on Sunday!
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
General Security
Tag Cloud
access acer asus bios bsod computer crash desktop driver drivers error ethernet excel freeze gaming hard drive hardware hdmi internet laptop malware memory modem monitor motherboard network printer problem ram registry router security slow software sound toshiba trojan ubuntu 11.10 uninstall usb video virus vista wifi windows windows 7 windows 7 32 bit windows 7 64 bit windows xp wireless
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
Solved: I received an eCard

Reply  
Thread Tools
jcdf's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 105 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Experience: Intermediate
16-Aug-2008, 11:39 AM #1
Solved: I received an eCard
I received an eCard in my mail box. Is it dangerous?

Quote:
Good day.
You have received an eCard

To pick up your eCard, choose from any of the following options:
Click on the following link (or copy & paste it into your web browser):

Malicious link deleted by Cookiegal

Your card will be aviailable for pick-up beginning for the next 30
days.
Please be sure to view your eCard before the days are up!

We hope you enjoy you eCard.

Thank You!

Malicious link deleted by Cookiegal

Last edited by Cookiegal; 17-Aug-2008 at 11:27 AM..
lunarlander's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 3,492 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
16-Aug-2008, 12:49 PM #2
An ecard should not be an EXE file. I would just delete the message.
1002richards's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 4,542 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sussex, UK
Experience: Intermediate
16-Aug-2008, 02:10 PM #3
Some info about this suspect domain:

http://whois.domaintools.com/kirchmair-pferde.at
jcdf's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 105 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Experience: Intermediate
16-Aug-2008, 02:22 PM #4
Thanks 1002richards
This is what it says:
Quote:
KirchMair-Pferde.at is suspected of possibly being a site engaged in distributing malware. Although we have done no research of our own, below are some community projects watching fraud that may have pages listed about KirchMair-Pferde.at.

KirchMair-Pferde.at is suspected of possibly being a spammer's site, although this has not been verified. Below are some community projects watching Spam that may have pages listed about KirchMair-Pferde.at.
So I should definitely not open the ecard EXE file. Because it may place malware on my computer or spam people on my email address book. Is this true 1002richards?
DoubleHelix's Avatar
Trusted Advisor with 21,050 posts.
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Experience: A little of this...a litt
16-Aug-2008, 02:43 PM #5
NEVER click on any links in e-mails that point to executable files. There's no way to tell what kind of damage it will do. Just don't open it.
Cookiegal's Avatar
Administrator & Malware Removal Specialist with 79,289 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada
17-Aug-2008, 11:27 AM #6
You need to delete that e-mail without opening it and delete it from your deleted items.

I've removed the malicious links from your post.
jcdf's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 105 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Experience: Intermediate
17-Aug-2008, 01:22 PM #7
Problem solved, thanks everyone.
Cookiegal's Avatar
Administrator & Malware Removal Specialist with 79,289 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada
17-Aug-2008, 01:23 PM #8
You're welcome.
Reply

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Search Tech Support Guy

Find the solution to your
computer problem!




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.
Thread Tools



Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter TechGuy.tv TechGuy.tv Mobile TSG Mobile
You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2011 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.