Live Chat & Podcast at 1:00PM Eastern on Sunday!
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
General Security
Tag Cloud
access acer asus bios bsod computer crash desktop driver drivers error ethernet excel freeze gaming hard drive hardware hdmi internet laptop malware memory modem monitor motherboard network printer problem ram registry router security slow software sound toshiba trojan ubuntu 11.10 uninstall usb video virus vista wifi windows windows 7 windows 7 32 bit windows 7 64 bit windows xp wireless
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
Phishing Expedition?

Reply  
Thread Tools
memoryinmotion's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 48 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SW Florida
Experience: Advanced
17-Aug-2008, 04:41 PM #1
Exclamation Phishing Expedition?
I've gotten three MSN IMs from a friend today, that only say:

memoryinmotion.megaimgx.com When you click the link, you're to enter your MSN username/password combo.

I've never heard of this thing, nor is there any info via google - which is suspicious.

Moreover, the whois info shows the site was created today

http://samspade.org/whois/megaimgx.com

This reeks of a phishing expedition to harvest MSN/Hotmail/Live information, doesn't it?

Last edited by Cookiegal; 17-Aug-2008 at 09:01 PM..
Cookiegal's Avatar
Administrator & Malware Removal Specialist with 79,289 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada
17-Aug-2008, 09:03 PM #2
I wouldn't touch it with a 10' pole.

BTW, please don't post links to questionable sites as we don't want anyone clicking on it and potentially getting scammed. I'ved edited your post to show the domain but not as a clickable link.
memoryinmotion's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 48 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SW Florida
Experience: Advanced
17-Aug-2008, 09:56 PM #3
My apologies. I actually DO know better than that, but that was posted on a break from putting up hurricane shutters (I'm in SW Florida), so my brain was elsewhere.

Is there any way to submit something like this to the major A/V Teams? I'd like to be able to advise this person (close friend) without causing undue panic if it's nothing more than something silly she subscribed to.
Cookiegal's Avatar
Administrator & Malware Removal Specialist with 79,289 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada
18-Aug-2008, 08:35 PM #4
Someone would have to download samples to see what infection they may be loading and then submit the files for analysis. Or I believe you can report phishing scams to the government as well for investgiation.
memoryinmotion's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 48 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SW Florida
Experience: Advanced
23-Aug-2008, 07:44 PM #5
Cool More Info
Well, it is the weekend, and maybe it's just a coincidence, but I got the message from the same friend again. This time I set up an MSN un/pw just for the occasion.

It does nothing, but insists "login failed" so it appears to just collect un/pw combos at this point. I will be monitoring this address that I've set up to see it it collects spam.
jsparky77's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 184 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Experience: Intermediate
23-Aug-2008, 11:45 PM #6
When i tested this link, neither Firefox 3 or Kaspersky let it load so i put a big red mark on it saying SCAM!
Reply

Tags
phishing

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Search Tech Support Guy

Find the solution to your
computer problem!




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.
Thread Tools



Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter TechGuy.tv TechGuy.tv Mobile TSG Mobile
You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 PM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2011 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.