Live Chat & Podcast at 1:00PM Eastern on Sunday!
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
General Security
Tag Cloud
access acer asus batch bios bsod computer crash desktop driver drivers error ethernet excel freeze gaming gpu hard drive hardware hdmi internet laptop malware memory modem monitor motherboard network printer problem ram registry router slow software sound trojan ubuntu 11.10 uninstall usb video virus vista wifi windows windows 7 windows 7 32 bit windows 7 64 bit windows xp wireless
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
Solved: AVG is telling me that Flash is a threat?

Reply  
Thread Tools
fenderjaguar's Avatar
fenderjaguar has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Member with 362 posts.
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Experience: Intermediate
14-Nov-2008, 11:47 AM #1
Solved: AVG is telling me that Flash is a threat?
Hi. Could anyone tell me why AVG is telling me that this is a threat? I'm more or less certain this computer is completely clean and this is actually a false alert...

http://img390.imageshack.us/my.php?i...lashavguz0.jpg
Blue Zee's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,781 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The best place on Earth
Experience: Always learning
14-Nov-2008, 12:20 PM #2
Another False Positive that is being reported everywhere.

Either add to the exclusion list (AVG > Tools > Advanced Settings > Resident Shield > Exceptions > Add Path) or do nothing until a new update corrects the problem.

Zee
fenderjaguar's Avatar
fenderjaguar has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Member with 362 posts.
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Experience: Intermediate
14-Nov-2008, 12:58 PM #3
OK, thanks mate!
Frank4d's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 8,718 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: So. California
Experience: Since MS-Dos 3.0
14-Nov-2008, 12:59 PM #4
And a WARNING: I just went to Google to see what "flashutil10a.exe" is. One of the Google results pointed to a website "veryrecent.com". Clicking on that link (or a link on that site) promptly downloaded a virus to my PC. Best to stay away from that one!
Blue Zee's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,781 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The best place on Earth
Experience: Always learning
14-Nov-2008, 01:03 PM #5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank4d View Post
And a WARNING: I just went to Google to see what "flashutil10a.exe" is. One of the Google results pointed to a website "veryrecent.com". Clicking on that link (or a link on that site) promptly downloaded a virus to my PC. Best to stay away from that one!
Yikes, nice catch.

It appeared 2nd on my search list...
fenderjaguar's Avatar
fenderjaguar has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Member with 362 posts.
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Experience: Intermediate
14-Nov-2008, 01:04 PM #6
yeah, I typed the file name into google as well. I'm not sure if I visited that site though...
fenderjaguar's Avatar
fenderjaguar has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Member with 362 posts.
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Experience: Intermediate
14-Nov-2008, 01:08 PM #7
Phew! The link is blue, not purple. I just clicked on pcpitstop and wookipedia, or whatever it was called. I actually have the link scanner active with AVG, which tells me it's "safe to procede to this site".

So the site just automatically uploaded you a virus, without you having to do anything?
Blue Zee's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,781 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The best place on Earth
Experience: Always learning
14-Nov-2008, 04:17 PM #8
Reply

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Search Tech Support Guy

Find the solution to your
computer problem!




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.
Thread Tools



Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter TechGuy.tv TechGuy.tv Mobile TSG Mobile
You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:26 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2011 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.