There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
General Security
Tag Cloud
access acer asus bios bsod computer crash dns driver drivers error ethernet excel freeze gaming google hard drive hardware hdmi internet laptop mac malware memory monitor motherboard mouse network printer problem ram registry router server slow software sound svchost.exe trojan usb video virus vista wifi windows windows 7 windows 7 32 bit windows 7 64 bit windows xp wireless
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
Solved: Has my server really been hacked?

Reply  
Thread Tools
treehstn's Avatar
Member with 206 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2004
08-Dec-2008, 10:35 AM #1
Solved: Has my server really been hacked?
Hi,

I have a dedicated server on a web host. I have 3 domains hosted on the same server. One of the domains was apparently hacked and a rogue script was installed that was using the exim service to send out spam. At least that's what I thought was going on.

When I contacted tech support at the web host they confirmed that the emails were being sent through my server and told me that there was no way for them to tell me what script was doing it or where it was located in the domain files. At this point I had them stop the exim service on my server so I knew no more spam would be sent out until I could get this web space cleaned up.

I backed up all of my files and the database from that domain and wiped out every file in the domain space by having the web host delete everything from their end. Then I created a new web space for the domain. I didn't load any programs or files whatsoever. Just the bare minimum to support the domain. Then I created the email accounts.

During this process I made sure that I changed every password on the domain. I didn't even use the same login names except for the email accounts. The email account passwords were also new.

As soon as I had the email accounts turned on there was more spam. What I find curious is that I have several email accounts on this domain but it's only one that all of this spam is being sent through. I don't know enough about the mechanics to know if this really is being sent through my server or if someone is just plugging in my email address in the spam.

I have not done anything with the other two domains on the server. Is it possible that even though these are saying they are from the fresh domain space they could be from a script on one of the others?

Here are a couple of the headers. If anyone can help I'd be very grateful!!

Return-path: <info@glassresearch.net>
Envelope-to: info@glassresearch.net
Delivery-date: Mon, 08 Dec 2008 01:46:20 -0600
Received: from [218.77.202.52] (helo=alvearnet.com.ar)
by server.glassresearch.net with smtp (Exim 4.69)
(envelope-from <info@glassresearch.net>)
id 1L9aot-0002ml-K1
for info@glassresearch.net; Mon, 08 Dec 2008 01:46:20 -0600
To: <info@glassresearch.net>
Subject: Delivery Status Notification
From: <info@glassresearch.net>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Importance: High
Content-Type: text/html

------------------------

Return-path: <info@glassresearch.net>
Envelope-to: info@glassresearch.net
Delivery-date: Mon, 08 Dec 2008 07:13:23 -0600
Received: from ppp079166079114.dsl.hol.gr ([79.166.79.114])
by server.glassresearch.net with smtp (Exim 4.69)
(envelope-from <info@glassresearch.net>)
id 1L9fvO-0004Zs-0u
for info@glassresearch.net; Mon, 08 Dec 2008 07:13:23 -0600
To: <info@glassresearch.net>
Subject: RE: Message
From: <info@glassresearch.net>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Importance: High
Content-Type: text/html
treehstn's Avatar
Member with 206 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2004
08-Dec-2008, 12:40 PM #2
I found a registry hack that displays the full headers. Here's the newest email that has come in:

Return-path: <tadlocko@kinki-kids.com>
Envelope-to: info@glassresearch.net
Delivery-date: Mon, 08 Dec 2008 10:36:28 -0600
Received: from ppp-58-8-250-41.revip2.asianet.co.th ([58.8.250.41] helo=ppp-58-8-59-122.revip2.asianet.co.th)
by server.glassresearch.net with esmtp (Exim 4.69)
(envelope-from <tadlocko@kinki-kids.com>)
id 1L9j5v-0005MP-QO
for info@glassresearch.net; Mon, 08 Dec 2008 10:36:28 -0600
Message-ID: <a1c0019dc529$980fd381$d7c8be80@kinki-kids.com>
From: "=?windows-1251?B?QWxsYXJkIENvcGVsYW5k?=" <tadlocko@kinki-kids.com>
To: <info@glassresearch.net>
Subject: =?windows-1251?B?c3BhbTogT3ZlciAxMCBtaWxsaW9uIG1lbiA=?=
=?windows-1251?B?bWFkZSB0aGVpciB3b21lbiBoYXBweSwgYW5kIHlvdT8=?=
Date: Sat, 08 Nov 3609 23:36:45 +0700
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary=----=_NextPart_000_0023_85_85DDFBC3.BC7C6663
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2900.2180
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.2180
X-tis-spam: =?us-ascii?B?c2NvcmU9MzEuMjIyNzAgKDE0ODAzNiwxNDgw?=
=?us-ascii?B?MzksMTQ0MDMxLDE0NjAwNyw3MDAwMjAsMTA2ODMwLDcwMDc1Miwx?=
=?us-ascii?B?MDYyODAsMTA1MjAwLDcwNzczMSwxMDU4MzAsNzAxMDM1LDE4ODAx?=
=?us-ascii?B?OSwxODgwMDgsMTExNjAwLDExMTYwNCwxODgxMTksNzA1NzE4LDEx?=
=?us-ascii?B?MTYwNSw3MDAwNzQsMTg4MDA5LDE4ODEzMCwxMTE2MDgsMTg4MDU3?=
=?us-ascii?B?LDcwMDgwMiw3MDI2MzgsNzAwNTI5LDE4ODAwMiw3MDAyNjQsMTg4?=
=?us-ascii?B?MTM0LDE4ODAwNyw3MDA3NTgsNzA0NDI1LDE4ODEyMiw3MDA3MDgs?=
=?us-ascii?B?MTg4MDkwLDcwMDczMiwxMzk3MDQsNzAwMDczLDExMTYxMCwxODgw?=
=?us-ascii?B?NjIsMTExNjAzLDExMTYwMSwxMDAwMywyMjU3MSwzNjAwMSk=?=
desinet1's Avatar
Computer Specs
Junior Member with 9 posts.
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
08-Dec-2008, 11:21 PM #3
Keen to know some wise guy reply in this thread.
Interesting.
treehstn's Avatar
Member with 206 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2004
09-Dec-2008, 09:18 PM #4
desinet1... not sure what you are getting at.

Turns out it was a spammer using my not very secure (now IS!!) mail service for a relay.
Reply

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Search Tech Support Guy

Find the solution to your
computer problem!




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.
Thread Tools



Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter TechGuy.tv TechGuy.tv Mobile TSG Mobile
You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:23 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2011 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.