Mourning the loss of our friend, WhitPhil.
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
 
General Security
Tag Cloud
access audio black screen blue screen boot bsod connection crash dell desktop driver drivers dvd email error excel excel 2003 firefox hard drive hardware internet keyboard laptop malware monitor motherboard network networking outlook problem processor recovery router safe mode screen slow sound spyware tdlwsp.dll trojan upgrade video virus vista vundo windows windows 7 windows vista windows xp wireless
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
ebay hijacked?

Tip: Click here to scan for System Errors and Optimize PC performance
[ Sponsored Link ]

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
leoguy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Junior Member with 4 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
12-Jan-2009, 06:06 PM #1
ebay hijacked?
When I sign in to ebay, I am redirected to a page that says,
----------
"Welcome Half.com member. Please read important information below: Because of the closer alignment between Half.com and eBay, you will need to review and accept the eBay User Agreement before continuing to use Half.com and eBay. Just click the Continue button and complete a couple of steps, and you'll be able to bid and buy on eBay and Half.com."
Hitting "continue" sends me to a page with my correct name + address, but asked for CC inof. "Since you are using a free Web email address (Yahoo, Hotmail), you'll need to place a credit card or debit card (Visa or MasterCard) on file."
-----------
This can't be right, can it?
I run AVG, Spybot, Ad-aware + SuperAntispyware.
---------------------

I asked EBAY, they told me to turn off all Anti- Spyware Tools, saying, "Please note, the problem that you described in your email is actually
caused by a hidden program running in the background on your computer.
This hidden program is affecting your navigation through our site. As a
group, programs of this type are commonly referred to as "spyware."
Please be assured that eBay does not support or endorse any of these
programs.

Some types of software that may cause you problems include:
- Spyware filters (such as Ad-Aware)
- Pop-up blockers (such as Pop Up Stopper)
- "Ad busting" software that might be included with your firewall

If you have any of these types of programs installed on your computer, please TEMPORARILY disable them until you have successfully completed the eBay tasks you need to perform. Once these tasks are complete,
please re-enable this software immediately. This will ensure your
computer is fully protected from pop-ups, ads and spyware. Do not
disable your firewall or antivirus software.
---------------------------
Everything appears to be coming from xxxx.ebay.com, but my Firefox stops displaying the green Verisgn-EBAY logo left of the address bar once I progress past the signin screen.
Help?
mrss's Avatar
Registered User with 722 posts.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
12-Jan-2009, 07:42 PM #2
Wow. That's nasty, You have to assume that worse case, you have a trojan in your PC specifically formulated to redirect ebay.com to that fake site. It may also do that for common banking sites .

If you're willing to wait in line for expert help, go to the malware removal forum and post your problem, along with a hijackthis log.

I kind of disagree with the ebay explanation.. Nothing that is honest would ever send you to a ebay phishing site.
leoguy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Junior Member with 4 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
12-Jan-2009, 08:25 PM #3
Thx. I will send HJT log to that forum.
Closed Thread Bookmark and Share

Smart Search

Find your solution!



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.

Thread Tools


You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2009 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.