Mourning the loss of our friend, WhitPhil.
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
 
General Security
Tag Cloud
access audio black screen blue screen boot bsod connection crash dell desktop driver drivers dvd email error excel firefox hard drive hardware hijackthis internet keyboard laptop malware monitor motherboard network networking outlook problem ram recovery router safe mode screen slow sound spyware trojan upgrade vba video virus vista vundo windows windows 7 windows vista windows xp wireless
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
Fake Adobe Flash Player Site

Tip: Click here to scan for System Errors and Optimize PC performance
[ Sponsored Link ]

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
lotuseclat79's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 14,988 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -71.45091, 42.27841
14-May-2009, 10:11 AM #1
Fake Adobe Flash Player Site
Fake Adobe Flash Player Site.

-- Tom
Phantom010's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 7,661 posts.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cyberspace
Experience: Advanced
14-May-2009, 10:29 AM #2
Thanks for the info. Would be nice to know what website it is. Has it been closed by F-Secure?
lotuseclat79's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 14,988 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -71.45091, 42.27841
15-May-2009, 07:20 AM #3
Hi Phantom010,

At the end of the article, F-Secure stated that the fake web site was in Bulgaria, and that latest AV definitions detect this threat. Note: AV signature definitions are shared by different vendors once a threat is detected and a signature known.

-- Tom
Kenny94's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 2,159 posts.
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: S.C
Experience: Malware Fighter
15-May-2009, 07:37 AM #4
Also when a message pops up saying you need a new version of the Flash Player, don’t accept the file when visiting a website that offers as a update. Instead, go to http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer to install the latest version of the video player then go back and try viewing the video again.

Then if same message comes up with a prompt to download an updated Flash Player, on the site you was on, you will know it’s a scam for sure.
__________________
Member of the Alliance of Security Analysis Professionals

Malware And Security Tips

Last edited by Kenny94 : 15-May-2009 08:15 AM.
Blackmirror's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 28,048 posts.
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: uk
Experience: Chocoholic
15-May-2009, 10:07 AM #5
If you do a Google for adobe flash player the very first link

Quote:
Adobe Flash Player 2009
FlashPlayer.10-DownloadCenter.com Download Latest Version of Flash. Fast Download - 100% Guaranteed.
Its red on WOT and i expect that will give you a lot more than a player

Why isnt Google picking up on these spoof sites ??

Sponsored Links
I had a look and they want you to pay for the player
__________________
In the cookies of life, friends are the chocolate chips.
Closed Thread Bookmark and Share

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Smart Search

Find your solution!



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.

Thread Tools


You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2009 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.