Live Chat & Podcast at 1:00PM Eastern on Sunday!
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
General Security
Tag Cloud
access acer asus bios bsod computer crash desktop dns driver drivers error ethernet excel freeze gaming graphics hard drive hardware hdmi internet laptop malware memory monitor motherboard network printer problem ram registry repair router slow software sound trojan ubuntu 11.10 uninstall usb video virus vista wifi windows windows 7 windows 7 32 bit windows 7 64 bit windows xp wireless
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
GoMusic.ru SCAM?

Reply  
Thread Tools
Voodoo Thumb's Avatar
Member with 183 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
04-Jun-2009, 01:45 PM #1
GoMusic.ru SCAM?
I never heard of these guys until I received this email, which I altered slightly and copied below. I know they are an MP3 vendor in Russia, after googling them, but I want nothing to do with them. I can't find that any charges have been made to my credit cards. Do I need to do anything about this, other than not click on "confirm?"
Oh, and of course you can not communicate with them at their web site without giving your name, email, etc, which I have not done.
Thanks, help is greatly appreciated.

Dear joe blow,

Thank you for registration and welcome to
GoMusic.ru.
Now, you need to confirm supplied e-mail address.

Supplied e-mail address is
joeblow@ whatever.com

Please, follow this link to confirm your e-mail address:
http://www.gomusic.ru/confirm. user_id=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Or use code xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (copy/paste it) to confirm your e-mail manually on Settings page
http://www.gomusic.ru/settings.html

Accounts with unconfirmed e-mail address will be automaticaly removed in 14 days period.

If you have mistyped in your e-mail address during registration process, you need login to your account and change supplied e-mail address.

Thank you!
GoMusic.ru Team

Please, do not reply to this message. Use feedback form on GoMusic.ru site instead.
Bemcint's Avatar
Computer Specs
Junior Member with 5 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Experience: Advanced
04-Jun-2009, 02:13 PM #2
GoMusic.ru used to be a website called, "MP3Search.ru" I suggest that you check this link out, here at http://www.macworld.com/article/4592...mp3search.html The bands are obviously not receiving royalties, so I would suggest you think of the legal issues before trying it, which you obviously are not thinking of doing. The best thing I can think of would be to NOT click the confirmation link, and to just disregard the site completely. If you feel something must be done about it, or that your personal information is at stake, contact your state Attorney General if you reside in the U.S, and another figure of equal importance if you're in a separate country.

Last edited by Bemcint; 04-Jun-2009 at 02:15 PM.. Reason: Spelling error.
Voodoo Thumb's Avatar
Member with 183 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
04-Jun-2009, 07:13 PM #3
I want nothing to do with these guys. (GoMusic)
I was just a little concerned about security. Thanks for the input.
Pranav's Avatar
Member with 100 posts.
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Experience: Advanced
05-Jun-2009, 01:28 AM #4
It is generally better to ignore mails that appear legitimate, but are of no use to you.

Regards.
Reply

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Search Tech Support Guy

Find the solution to your
computer problem!




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.
Thread Tools



Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter TechGuy.tv TechGuy.tv Mobile TSG Mobile
You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:00 PM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2011 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.