Mourning the loss of our friend, WhitPhil.
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
 
General Security
Tag Cloud
access audio black screen blue screen boot bsod connection crash dell desktop driver drivers dvd email error excel excel 2003 firefox hard drive hardware hijackthis internet keyboard laptop malware monitor motherboard network networking outlook problem recovery router safe mode screen slow sound spyware trojan upgrade vba video virus vista vundo windows windows 7 windows vista windows xp wireless
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
McAfee SiteAdvisor and chitika.net

Tip: Click here to scan for System Errors and Optimize PC performance
[ Sponsored Link ]

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
kyle7119's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 142 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Experience: Intermediate
04-Jul-2009, 02:20 PM #1
McAfee SiteAdvisor and chitika.net
I will be surfing the web when McAfee SiteAdvisor will suddenly pop up and give me this message:

Quote:
mm.chitika.net/minimall?=728 may cause a breach of browser security.

Why were you redirected to this page? When we tested, this site attempted to make unauthorized changes to our test PC by exploiting a browser security vulnerability. This is a serious security threat which could lead to an infection of your PC.
I have even had this happen on Facebook. Is it possible that I have a trojan that is randomly redirecting me to chitika.net?
ChitikaJon's Avatar
Junior Member with 2 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
12-Jul-2009, 10:21 PM #2
Hi Kyle,

I work at Chitika, and can shed light on at least some of the problem. McAfee's SiteAdvisor had flagged us as having a browser exploit because of a third party graphic ad. We removed this ad at the start of June, and have been working with them since to try to get our name cleared in their database.

However, that popping up on Facebook is a surprise to me -- I am not aware of any trojan's that would be directing you to our site, but if you do get that alert when looking at Facebook again, and if you could please forward on the full link to me, I assure you that I will take a look and try to get to the bottom of it!

Thank you,
Jon
perfume's Avatar
perfume has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 1,586 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: An Alien,a misfit on Earth
Experience: Intermediate++
12-Jul-2009, 11:58 PM #3
Dear Kyle,
That's the value you get for having site advisers like McAfee or WOT! Congrats! Now, you may run Malwarebytes Anti-malware and/or an A-V scan for any probs.
kyle7119's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 142 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Experience: Intermediate
14-Jul-2009, 12:47 AM #4
On Facebook, I am not being redirected to chitika. Instead I am being redirected to this link

ad.hst.adecn.com/adecn?w=160

Any more ideas? Thanks.
kyle7119's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 142 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Experience: Intermediate
15-Jul-2009, 01:29 AM #5
bump
perfume's Avatar
perfume has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 1,586 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: An Alien,a misfit on Earth
Experience: Intermediate++
15-Jul-2009, 03:23 AM #6
Dear kyle7119,
Are you able to open the web address you provided? Using the "interclue" in FF, i may be able to get some info' about the site in question. What you gave in not a link. You just typed it in. Now, as a reply to my post, when you click on reply, a box like this will open. Just below the " white smiley" at the top center, you can see a "globe with a chain". Just copy the web address you want to send as a link and click on that globe.A http will appear. Right click there and "paste" the address you are being directed to. Then click "O.K". Thus the link is created. you may not see it highlighted in your reply, but once you post it, we can "hover" over the link and see it highlighted.
If you know all this and more, i am the buffoon(i don't mind it,because i have no mind) otherwise take it as a small tutorial!

PS: now as an ex. see this http://forums.techguy.org/newreply.p...te=1&p=6808812
__________________
TAKE A BACK UP AND RESTORE, BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE! (MACRIUM REFLECT-FREE) WEBSITE:http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp
kyle7119's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 142 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Experience: Intermediate
15-Jul-2009, 11:29 PM #7
Um. . . you can always copy and paste the link into IE. However, HERE is the link.
perfume's Avatar
perfume has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 1,586 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: An Alien,a misfit on Earth
Experience: Intermediate++
15-Jul-2009, 11:39 PM #8
Dear kyle7119,
Now let's view what "interclue" came up with. The first thumbnail was the link i gave. The second one is the link you gave. Clicking on the link of your's re-directed me to TSG!http://forums.techguy.org/
Attached Thumbnails
McAfee SiteAdvisor and chitika.net-greenshot38.png   McAfee SiteAdvisor and chitika.net-greenshot39.png  
kyle7119's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 142 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Experience: Intermediate
16-Jul-2009, 12:23 AM #9
Are you sure???? It didn't take me to techguy.org. Try this.
stormfish's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 250 posts.
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Arkansas
Experience: Intermediate
16-Jul-2009, 02:59 AM #10
perfume all of his links worked it took me to http://ad.hst.adecn.com/adecn?w=160 like kyle said.
perfume's Avatar
perfume has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 1,586 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: An Alien,a misfit on Earth
Experience: Intermediate++
16-Jul-2009, 03:20 AM #11
Dear kyle7119,
The link you newly provided seems to be a problem site! See what came up after i clicked on your link :
Attached Thumbnails
McAfee SiteAdvisor and chitika.net-greenshot40.jpg  
kyle7119's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 142 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Experience: Intermediate
16-Jul-2009, 06:55 PM #12
I know that it is a problem site. What I want to know is why I am being redirected there randomly.
ChitikaJon's Avatar
Junior Member with 2 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
16-Jul-2009, 07:36 PM #13
It appears as though that site you are being sent to is an ad exchange network -- is that link popping up in a pop-up window, or are you being redirected there in the same browser page that you are using Facebook in?
If it is a popup, I might think it could have to do with a Facebook application.
If it is coming up randomly regardless of which site you might be on, it would seem much more likely a virus.
Have you tried running an online anti-virus scan of your system? I personally use Trend Micro, and they have an online scan at http://housecall.trendmicro.com/ -- I've also had good luck with Symantec's in the past -- http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/WelcomePage.asp (continue and there will be a start page for a virus scan)
kyle7119's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 142 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Experience: Intermediate
16-Jul-2009, 09:05 PM #14
Yes, I've run Malewarebytes Anti-Malware and it detected nothing. Just out of curiousity, can my Facebook profile "get a virus"? It seems as if I only have the problem on Facebook.
perfume's Avatar
perfume has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 1,586 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: An Alien,a misfit on Earth
Experience: Intermediate++
16-Jul-2009, 10:06 PM #15
Dear kyle7119,
I am providing a link as to how to prevent unwanted re-directing of a web page :http://forums.techguy.org/malware-re...redirects.html

Your prob. should be solved once you follow the steps in the above link. How to prevent such future events is a different matter! You've got to configure your browser of choice(mine's firefox3.5, holes and all )! I am providing a snap as to how i've configured my browser reg. redirect. :
Attached Thumbnails
McAfee SiteAdvisor and chitika.net-greenshot41.png  
__________________
TAKE A BACK UP AND RESTORE, BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE! (MACRIUM REFLECT-FREE) WEBSITE:http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp
Closed Thread Bookmark and Share

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Smart Search

Find your solution!



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.

Thread Tools


You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2009 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.