There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
General Security
Tag Cloud
access acer asus bios bsod computer crash desktop driver drivers error ethernet excel freeze gaming hard drive hardware hdmi internet laptop malware memory modem monitor motherboard netgear network printer problem ram registry repair router slow software sound toshiba trojan usb video virus vista wifi windows windows 7 windows 7 32 bit windows 7 64 bit windows xp wireless xbox
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > General Security >
IOBit stealing MBAM's database

Reply  
Thread Tools
happyrck's Avatar
Senior Member with 3,242 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Experience: Advanced
03-Nov-2009, 10:03 AM #1
IOBit stealing MBAM's database
Malwarebytes has recently uncovered evidence that a company called IOBit based in China is stealing and incorporating our proprietary database and intellectual property into their software. We know this will sound hard to believe, because it was hard for us to believe at first too. But after an indepth investigation, we became convinced it was true. Here is how we know.

http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/i...howtopic=29681
__________________
Hardware.. The parts of a computer system that can be kicked
Software..The parts of a computer system that you can only swear at..
http://www.crossloop.com/Craig
wgman21's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 104 posts.
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Experience: Intermediate
03-Nov-2009, 08:54 PM #2
Wow!! What an interesting read.
dotty999's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 131,278 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Experience: I'm learning all the time
03-Nov-2009, 09:21 PM #3
Quote:
Originally Posted by happyrck View Post
Malwarebytes has recently uncovered evidence that a company called IOBit based in China is stealing and incorporating our proprietary database and intellectual property into their software. We know this will sound hard to believe, because it was hard for us to believe at first too. But after an indepth investigation, we became convinced it was true. Here is how we know.

http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/i...howtopic=29681
I use one of their programmes and have done for quite some time, I now wonder if it's safe as they don't appear to be trustworthy.
Kenny94's Avatar
Account Disabled with 2,481 posts.
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: S.C
09-Dec-2009, 07:12 PM #4
I see that IObit Security 360 detection rates has dropped:

http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/i...0&#entry168813
happyrck's Avatar
Senior Member with 3,242 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Experience: Advanced
10-Dec-2009, 11:55 AM #5
yep...notice how IObit's in-the-wild detection rates dropped from over 70% to under 20% overnight after removing Malwarebytes' definitions from their database. Unsurprisingly, IObit has abruptly ended its anti-malware comparison testing program.
Snagglegaster's Avatar
Account Disabled with 1,582 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Experience: Between Vast & Half-Vast
10-Dec-2009, 09:08 PM #6
At least, unlike Greendam, this time the Chinese stole decent code!
Kenny94's Avatar
Account Disabled with 2,481 posts.
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: S.C
07-Jan-2010, 09:43 AM #7
BitRemover that has been designed specifically to remove every last trace of the entries of IObit programs left behind at:

http://www.t-tools.nl/bitremoveren.php
Reply

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Search Tech Support Guy

Find the solution to your
computer problem!




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.
Thread Tools



Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter TechGuy.tv TechGuy.tv Mobile TSG Mobile
You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2011 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.