Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Computer still slow and i have done everything!

(!)

Junior Member with 7 posts.

Experience: Advanced
15-Sep-2011, 10:57 PM #1
Computer still slow and i have done everything!
Just thought i would share a little background info with you all before i post, I have been working on computers for the past 5 years and would call myself an expert in the area, but i have run across a problem that i cannot seem to fix.

The first problem that the computer had when it came into the shop was that the computer did not boot at all, no power. I quickly ran and installed a new power supply and presto it came to life. I did notice though however that the computer took FOREVER to boot, but the customer only paid for a new power supply so i ignored the problem.

A few days later i receive a call from the same lady explaining and blaming me, that her computer is slow when it wasn't before. I told her i would send a tech down and pick it up for further investigation for free. (gotta keep the customers happy)

When the computer was in the shop i took off the panel and checked the ram using a BOOT CD. RAM came back fine with no errors. I then proceeded to check the HDD for errors and that also came back clean with nothing physically wrong as well. I then started unplugging everything one by one to see if the system would boot faster...nothing, takes over 20 min for windows to boot and EVERYTHING was extremely slow afterwards.