Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Laptop won't turn on

(!)

Member with 32 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
20-Sep-2011, 12:51 PM #1
Laptop won't turn on
Well, I have a Dell Studio 1555 laptop and bought it 2 years ago.
It has a Intel Dual Core 2.1 ghz, 4 gb ram, 500 gb hard drive, windows 7 home edition (upgraded after receiving CD), etc.
My motherboard model is D177M.
My situation is that I am studying abroad currently in France and I went away for a weekend trip to Paris. I came back from my trip to my room at Metz, France and tried to turn on my laptop (which was plugged in the whole time) and it wont turn on.
A quick flash of light (approximately less than a second) appears on the screen but than nothing happens after.
Any help? Thank you
Computer Specs
Member with 34 posts.

20-Sep-2011, 01:06 PM #2
From the Dell manual....

"The Studio1555/15 is offered with an option of a 65 W or 90 W E-Series AC adapter. Dell also offers a 65 W auto air AC adapter.
Unlike conventional adapters, the power light of the AC adapter is located on the adapter barrel itself.When the adapter is connected, the LED on the adapter barrel lights up in a steady blue color."

Is the adapter lit up? Are the voltages in France compatable?
Are any other indicator lights lit up on the laptop?
SUEOHIO   (SUE) SUEOHIO is offline SUEOHIO has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 3,690 posts.

Experience: Advanced
20-Sep-2011, 01:06 PM #3
I would guess a power supply problem or one with the motherboard.
Computer Specs
Member with 34 posts.

20-Sep-2011, 01:08 PM #4
One more thing...pull the battery and see if the laptop runs with just the AC adapter connected.
Member with 32 posts.

20-Sep-2011, 01:11 PM #5
Yes. I have checked the AC adapter and the voltages ranged from 110-220, which included France's voltage.