Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

New Build Problems

(!)

Member with 13 posts.

Experience: Beginner
21-Feb-2012, 12:25 AM #1
New Build Problems
I'll start with saying that I am somewhat new to building PC's and I am only 15 so I don't have a lot of money to fix my issue.
But here is my dilemma:

About a year ago I got an old Gateway GX7022E computer from a relative that I was planning on fixing up and modifying; which I ended up fixing and using for a while. But because the default case form was a BTX, I couldn't make any serious modifications.

I later decided, on a budget, to buy a new case, PSU, mobo, RAM, and graphics card. However, I stripped the old Pentium D 3.0ghz processor and hard drive from the old Gateway to use in my new build. Since I am new to building computers I figured because the OS and all my old files from the Gateway were on that hard drive, I could just put together all the new components and my new PC would boot up with no problems.

I now know that there is more to that when installing new major components like a motherboard, but now I am completely lost where to begin in getting my PC working with the old hard drive. The hard drive had Windows XP SP3 installed when I took it from the old Gateway computer.

So I am wondering if there is any way that I can get my computer working without having to go buy a new OS. And being my first build can someone also tell me what I have to do during a first time boot.
Thank You
Member with 405 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
21-Feb-2012, 05:54 AM #2
You will need a Windows XP installation disk and the product key from your original installation.
See here: http://supportpcs.co.uk/installcd/winxp.html