Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Computer suddenly stopped working- motherboard LEDs and fans on, no startup

(!)

Member with 7 posts.

Experience: Beginner
21-Apr-2012, 01:15 PM #1
Computer suddenly stopped working- motherboard LEDs and fans on, no startup
So, to give some background, this is my first build, and it has been assembled and working for 4 months now with no problems. I was able to identify the original motherboard as defective the first time I was building it, and the new one has never given me any problems.

My parts are an i5 2500k, a Gigabyte 768 mobo, a Seasonic 750x PSU, a Gigabyte 6850, and 8GB of GSKILL RAM. And I have an aftermarket heatsink as well. CPU is not overclocked.

Essentially, I was running it overnight to patch a game, and this morning when I came to wake it up the monitor wasn't showing anything. Turned it on and off again, "no signal", etc. I tried turning on my sound and restarting the computer, and I didn't get the bootup sound, so I'm guessing my CPU is not booting at all.

I have run it overnight before with no problems, and as stated, I have an aftermarket heatsink and it's not overclocked. I would be very surprised if it overheated.

Also, normally when I boot up, the motherboard LEDs start up for a second and then turn off. Now they're just staying on- not blinking, just staying on. I don't think it's the PSU either, as it has more than enough wattage, but a failure is always possible I suppose.

I have not taken it apart yet- I'd like to avoid that if possible- but if you have any advice I'm willing to take it. Hopefully, if I can't resolve it, I can at least find out which part is the issue.

Thank you very much for your help!
Computer Specs
Moderator with 52,677 posts.

21-Apr-2012, 02:14 PM #2
Quote: