Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Compaq Presario C552US NIC issues

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 3 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
16-May-2012, 02:36 PM #1
Unhappy Compaq Presario C552US NIC issues
Hey this is my first time posting here; I have pulled my hair out the last two weeks doing research and I can't seem to find any end to this madness.

Anyways, I just installed Windows XP pro on a compaq presario notebook c552us. I was able to get most of the drivers, but then I noticed in the device manager that there was no ethernet nic controller. I tried to download the vista nic drivers off the commpaq website, and it didnt work. I tried to download the drivers directly from the realtek website, still no controller identified. Finally I emailed realtek, and they just sent me a link to their website to download and install the same driver, still no luck.

My first question is has anyone out there seen/heard of this?

Is the hardware in this notebook only compatible with windows vista?

Finally, there is an ACPI systems driver that i cannot get installed for the life of me; could there be some connection to this and the nic?

Thanks!
Member with 2,536 posts.

16-May-2012, 03:50 PM #2
"Is the hardware in this notebook only compatible with windows vista?"

The Presario C552US is compatible with both Windows XP (up to a point) & Windows Vista. Compaq has drivers for both on their US website, but for XP there are only a limited number of drivers compared to the Vista ones (see my last sentence in italics).

With any laptop, only the laptop manufacturer has the correct drivers unless they are built into Windows itself. It's no good getting drivers direct from the NIC manufacturer because Compaq laptops need modified drivers and Realtek don't have those.