Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Question about installing an SSD drive onto my PC

(!)

Member with 47 posts.

19-Jul-2012, 12:26 AM #1
Question about installing an SSD drive onto my PC
I'm thinking about getting one of those SSD drives. I'm looking at this one here: http://www.umart.com.au/pro/products...=159&sid=75947

Is it worth getting one for my system? And will it even work with my motherboard. I'm not that good with PC hardware, so I couldn't figure out how and where it installs if I did have one. Does it just sit in where my current HDDs are and use the same cables?

Is the normal approach to have my OS and programs and games installed onto the SSD and then have all my files and everything else on another internal HD?

I use the PC for playing games and game development.

Here are my PC specs:

Nvidia gtx 580.

I7 2600K

16 gb ram

Motherboard: P8 Z68-V PRO

Seagate 7200rpm 500 gb Hard drive.

Thanks.
Member with 7 posts.

19-Jul-2012, 12:29 AM #2
I have been looking around for an ssd too. I not sure if I'm qualified enough to answer your questions, but I saw this really good one from Crucial. 20 second boot up time on windows 7 64 home premium. Sata 3 too. it's 128 GB, and cheaper.

http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-2-5-In...1&keywords=ssd
Computer Specs
Member with 433 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
19-Jul-2012, 01:27 AM #3
Member xhaydenx appears to be located in Australia. Regardless, the OCZ drive has received good reviews.

The Crucial drive is at Amazon in the U.S. Currently $101.00 Australian is nearly $104.00 American. I don't believe Amazon US will ship down-under.
Computer Specs
Moderator with 31,213 posts.

19-Jul-2012, 09:26 AM #4
I have basically the same board as you do except I have the slightly newer gen3. Yes it will work just fine.