Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

First Built Rig

(!)

Member with 5 posts.

Experience: Beginner
07-Aug-2012, 10:21 PM #1
First Built Rig
Hello guys, I've been gaming online, MMO/FPS, since 2003, but I've always built pre-built rigs. I'm running some outdated gaming PCs, and I figured I'd give myself a shot at building my own this time. I don't have a great amount of experience, but, as every gamer does, I've upgraded numerous hardware parts over the years; video cards, processors, motherboards etc.

I am looking for feedback in regards to the hardware I have picked out. I'm not infinite with funding, but I want to build something to run online games on for quite a few years. I've done some research on various components, but I haven't sought out feedback on how well they may interact with one another. Again, this is my first attempt at constructing my own rig from scratch. Also, I'm looking for feedback on the best places to obtain the parts. So far, I've searched through tigerdirect.com and newegg.com, but I haven't dealt with them personally yet. Feedback on their service and prices would be a tremendous help to me at this point. If the system I present sounds like a fairly powerful set up and those websites prove to have decent service/prices, I hope to place the order on the Aug 15th.

I'm listing the prices I found at tigerdirect.com, but depending on the feedback I receive, I may change my potential source. Without additional word spam, here goes the rig.

CPU: Intel Core i7 2600k ($320)
MoBo: Asus Sabertooth z77 Intell Series 7 ($240)
CPU Cooler: Corsair Hyrdo H100 CPU Liquid Cooler ($115)
RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600mhz 16gb ($100)
VC: EVGA Geforce GTX 670ti 2g ($400)
HDD: Seagate ST1000DM003 Barracude 1TB 7200rpm ($90)
HDD: Crucial CT128M4SSD2 M4 2.5" 128g ($120)