Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Slight shimmer (?) when reading text

(!)

Member with 13 posts.

Experience: Beginner
11-Aug-2012, 12:44 PM #1
Slight shimmer (?) when reading text
A few days ago, I got a video card update. I installed it, and since then I have a slight "shimmer/ghosting/don't really know what to call it" when reading text. I tried a restore point, but it doesn't seem to do the trick.

The shimmer is barely visible, it just makes my eyes go fuzzy when reading text, especially black on a white background. It is hard to focus on one letter, as they seem to be hanging in the air in front of the monitor almost. As focusing on letters is what I do for a living, and I have to focus on tiny stripes of black on white (Arabic vocalization), it makes me not happy. I had this problem once before with this video card, and ended up buying a new monitor, which did the trick... until now.

I have an ATI Radeon HD 3800 series video card; and a BenQ G2420HDBL Digital monitor. Cables are all properly attached. I can't find this problem on Google. Any ideas?
JennyJackson01   (Jenny) JennyJackson01 is offline JennyJackson01 has a Profile Picture
Member with 636 posts.

11-Aug-2012, 01:51 PM #2
Make sure you`ve installed the correct driver for your system and card as the wrong driver can give you some weird and wonderful combinations.

You don`t say what system you`re running but try going into display settings on the desktop and choose `Clear type` rather than `Standard` and also adjust the refresh rate to see if that helps.

Jenny
captainron276   (Ron) captainron276 is offline captainron276 has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 3,703 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
11-Aug-2012, 01:59 PM #3