Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Toshiba Laptop Boot

(!)

Junior Member with 6 posts.

28-Dec-2003, 12:10 PM #1
Toshiba Laptop Boot
I'm tryig to revive a Toshiba PAV1470PMC laptop after a water spill rendered it unbootable.

after a few days of drying time there were a few attempts to start it in the usual fashion. Which only resulted in no monitor activity at all, no beeps to indicate bios activity only some fan noise. Then after a few more attemps, the fan noise ceased as well.
I have some experience pulling computers. I did some research on the net, where I've found about 30 different key-stroke combinations to induce BIOS setup only two of these worked, allowing the power to return in as far as the LED display and fan will operate.

I have pulled this machine completely apart, everything that could be disconnected and removed has been. All cleaned and reassembled.Cmos battery, power supply, and power to periferals(HDD CDROM KB) were tested with volt meter. all check ok.

I've tried to induce start failure by turning on power w/o keyboard, again w/o HDD, yet no progress. Still only power to the LED screen and Fan. The LED shows the A/C plug indicator, the Power On icon(mini laptop) and the "Welcome to DYNA BOOK" logo.

ANY IDEAS WHERE TO GO FROM HERE.
Junior Member with 11 posts.

01-Jan-2004, 08:31 PM #2
do u still have the warrenty on it?... you may be able to turn it in.

02-Jan-2004, 11:59 AM #3
warrenty
I live in Japan and the machine was also bought in Japan. In Japan there is only one kind of warrenty, "The no-heart Warrenty"

ie. if you didn't have the heart to take care of it, We haven't got the heart to help you fix it.

not a chance of getting anything off of warrenty. sorrry

tweedhome

02-Jan-2004, 12:04 PM #4