Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Computer works but no picture on monitor

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 2 posts.

Experience: Beginner
26-Jun-2006, 05:57 PM #1
Computer works but no picture on monitor
You have to understand I am just a beginner with computers first off........Ok here is my problem, our house was hit with lightening at both ends during the same storm, yes lightening does strike twice LOL The computer was unplugged but there was still an old phone line still plugged in that my son never unplugged, when the lightening hit the one end of the house it came into the house through the phone line, but all the phones worked it was the jacks that got fried, the lightening bolt that hit the other end of the house bounced off the tree right next to the house, and when we got the surge of power , it messed up my cable booster, and splitters but my computer is fine, it didnt mess with it at all, but my sons computer works and he gets no picture on the screen, his computer is hooked up to the TV but the TV is fine, we changed out the monitor cable, ( a geek told us that was our problem) but it still isnt working, what else should I try ?????? Please help, son is driving me crazy with no computer
Member with 17,584 posts.

26-Jun-2006, 08:22 PM #2
When you say "his computer works and he gets no picture", how do you know that the computer is actually working?

Unless you hear the startup beep, and the Windows loading music you cannot assume its "working".

A simple and effective test is to tap the Caps Lock key, and observe the Caps Lock light on the keyboard. If the computer is "working", then the light should toggle from off to on to off each press. If that does not happen then the computer is not "working" at all, it probably has serious damage.