Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Dissamble Power Adapter brick - laptop

(!)

Member with 361 posts.

Experience: Advanced
16-Jul-2007, 12:31 AM #1
Dissamble Power Adapter brick - laptop
I have recently noticed that depending on the position of the low volt line exiting the power adapter brick for my laptop, my laptop will register as pluged in, or as running on battery power. My AC power adapter brick has a lose connection in it. I want to disasemble it and attempt to fix the connector.

I am currently studying electrical/computer engineering so I feel confident that I will be able to fix it, but I can get inside the box.

as always any and all help is greatly appreciated.

ps. yea I could go buy a new power adapter, but I don't want to spend that $60 if I can help it.
Computer Specs
Member with 1,897 posts.

16-Jul-2007, 12:36 AM #2
If your brick is anything like the ones I make, it is encased in epoxy inside the plastic case. (I do it to allow the brick to survive drops.) If that's the case, you won't be able to fix it.

What is the make/model of your laptop?

Courtney sends....
darkelf_18 darkelf_18 is offline   darkelf_18 has a birthday soon!
Senior Member with 509 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
16-Jul-2007, 01:34 AM #3
Quote:
Originally Posted by springbrk200
I have recently noticed that depending on the position of the low volt line exiting the power adapter brick for my laptop, my laptop will register as pluged in, or as running on battery power. My AC power adapter brick has a lose connection in it. I want to disasemble it and attempt to fix the connector.

I am currently studying electrical/computer engineering so I feel confident that I will be able to fix it, but I can get inside the box.

as always any and all help is greatly appreciated.