Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Bios settings won't save

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 9 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
26-Aug-2007, 04:51 PM #1
Bios settings won't save
Okay, here it goes I'm kind of new at this and think I'm over my head but... - I have a Intel p4 with an ECS 915p mobo and recently flashed the bios using the win/ami utility from the ECS website and the 060627 update. After doing so, the computer begins to post but stops after "checking NVRAM.." and says "CMOS Checksum Bad" and "CMOS set date/time," "Press F1 to enter set up." If I go into setup and correct the date and save (f10) it restarts but stops at the same exact point. It doesn't seem to be saving any of the changes I make - date/time or any others it reverts back to whatever was there. I replaced the battery on the motherboard but it still won't save the changes. I've tried resetting the CMOS using the jumper on the motherboard then it stops at the same point and says CMOS wrong the first time but then reverts back to the original message after I "save" it (doesn't actually save anything).

The reason I updated the BIOS is because I recently installed a new video card (Geforce 7300 gs oc) which worked but had lines and random falling pixels. I noticed the BIOS update on the ECS site mentioned further support for nVidia cards.