Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Dual Core????

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 8 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
01-Jan-2008, 01:19 PM #1
Dual Core????
Hello,

I've just bought an Intel 2140 1.6Ghz Dual Core CPU to fit into a Gigabyte 8i865GME - 775 - RH motherboard and I'm not sure all is well. I've never used Dual Core before and I'm not sure that the motherboard supports Dual Core 1, it states it supports Dual Core 2 from this I assumed that it also supports Dual Core 1. When booting up the screen displays "Main Processor : Genuine Intel (r) CPU 2140 @ 1.60 Ghz (200x8)".

Does this mean that the motherboard is only detecting a single core CPU or is this normal for Dual Core. The motherboard manual isn't too helpful as it's a multi motherboard support job that has options that aren't in my BIOS. I've contacted Gigabyte support but haven't heard anything back yet.

I'm running Windows XP Pro Service Pack 2. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 339 posts.

01-Jan-2008, 01:53 PM #2
Well, I'm not familiar with Gigabyte boards or their BIOSs, but you can check to see if you are using both cores by logging into Windows and launching the task manager (Ctrl+Alt+Delete). From there, go to the performance tab. If you see three graphs, then you are OK- there should be two on the top, one on the bottom.
Computer Specs

01-Jan-2008, 02:44 PM #3
Dual Core
Hello Waldo II,

Thanks for the tip

I'm beginning to think the motherboard doesn't support Dual Core 1 and I'll have to go back the Celeron single core. Would you happen to know if a Celeron single core 3.2Ghz running at 533 FSB would run faster than a Dual Core running at 1.6 at 800Mhz as the Dual Core does work.

Cheers
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 531 posts.

01-Jan-2008, 02:56 PM #4