Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

What is a SATA cord?

(!)

Member with 2,064 posts.

20-Feb-2008, 12:56 AM #1
What is a SATA cord?
I want to buy a new DVD burner drive for my 2 year old DELL XPS 400 with Win XP to replace the one in it, that isn't working too well. When looking around online, I have found some that look good, but some say SATA and "includes SATA cord". In the pictures, on the back of the drive it shows where the SATA plug(s) plug in the back of the drive.

I'm not experienced with putting in drives, but I'm confident I can replace the one I have now, the WAY it is, which has a long plug on a flat ribbon cord (another plug on it goes to the other CD-ROM drive) and the power cord (plug) beside this. This is how I've always seen the drives plugged in.

I've looked in searches and found SATA cord (apparently they are all red) but don't understand what it is, and what it's used for. Do I have to use it? Can I buy a drive that comes with a SATA cord and just hook it up on the long plug, flat ribbon cord like the one I have? Or should I look for a drive that doesn't have this?

Just when I think I have something figured out, there's something new to figure out!

Thanks,
Carrie
cwwozniak   (Chuck) cwwozniak is online now cwwozniak is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions. cwwozniak has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 46,357 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
20-Feb-2008, 02:35 AM #2
Quote:
Originally Posted by starchild View Post
Just when I think I have something figured out, there's something new to figure out!
Well, you have something new to figure out again.