Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Best Video Card & Monitor for Photography

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 4 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
12-Apr-2008, 06:34 PM #1
Question Best Video Card & Monitor for Photography
Hi. I am in the market for a new computer. I need something that can do justice to my digital images. I am an avid photographer; although not professional. I have been doing research on monitors and video cards but dont really understand all the tech talk. I know I need a large (24" or better) monitor that is capable of displaying multi-millions of colors with excellent resolution. To go with it, I need a video card that can do the same. I don't do any gaming, so the video card does not need any qualities for gaming. I'm not sure if the qualities that make a video card good for gaming are the same qualities that I should be looking for for photography purposes. I use Photoshop CS3 and Lightroom to process my images. My images are all taken in the RAW format. I am currently using a Windows laptop, but am seriously considering buying a MAC. Any help/advice you can give one this topic is appreciated. Thanks.
Computer Specs
Member with 329 posts.

Experience: approx 3 yottabyte of sto
12-Apr-2008, 07:15 PM #2
From what the advertising says, I'd say that the Nvidia 9600GT is the best option for you.

It has good image quality (depending on screen of course), good performance for the price, and it's cheap.

But I don't have any real experience of it.
Computer Specs
Member with 773 posts.

12-Apr-2008, 07:46 PM #3
As far as that goes, I'm guessing you're not just into taking pictures and putting them on display. Like, I'm thinking you want to, say, edit them, too. For that, you'll want to have a more powerful vid card, like the one suggested.