Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: CPU Temp 68-72 Celsius Idling, Help!

(!)

Junior Member with 3 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
13-Jul-2008, 09:36 PM #1
Exclamation Solved: CPU Temp 68-72 Celsius Idling, Help!
I'm new here, I apologize if i am posting in the wrong section.

Computer was experiencing random crashes when running software/games so I decided to swap out some sticks of ram to see if that was the issue, and it was not, crashes still occurred. I booted up into BIOS and looked at the different temps, and my CPU temperature was at 70 give or take 2 degrees, when idling normally its between 35-40...

The fan on the heatsink is running fine, room temperature is about 25 in here and the side of the case is always open.

I'm a amateur when it comes to computers, I only know enough to put one together.

If anyone could give me some insight on what to do to troubleshoot further it would greatly be appreciated.
Computer Specs
Member with 6,922 posts.

14-Jul-2008, 03:33 AM #2
Dust/dirt in the heatsink can turn up the heat, be sure to vacuum the heatsink, if you see any dust. Has the computer worked fine earlier? How long have you had the computer?

14-Jul-2008, 10:10 AM #3
There is a bit of dust, gonna clean that out today. It has worked fine for the majority of the time that I have had it which is just over a year now.
Computer Specs
Member with 7,983 posts.

Experience: Mac Addict
14-Jul-2008, 10:15 AM #4
Try putting the side of the case back on, computers are made to run with all the parts in place and if you take the side of the case off, you may disrupt the airflow in the box.

What kind of computer is it?

14-Jul-2008, 10:33 AM #5
It's built.