Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

HP ink system failure

(!)

Junior Member with 5 posts.

Experience: business user - not technical
16-Oct-2008, 01:42 PM #1
HP ink system failure
Hello. I've gotten a dreaded error messae on my HP 3300 all-in-one printer/fax/scanner/copier.

Ink system failure
oxc18a0106

My son tried to use the printer and when he did I heard from downstairs the noise it made. I've tried the "master" reset supplied on other sites, but it hasn't done the trick. Someone said that they had a problem with a gear and considering the noise it may sounds reasonable. I wanted to check with the good folks here to see what you had to say. You were a great help the last time I had an issue. I am far from a pro, so please respond in layman's terms.

Thanks,
Kathy
Computer Specs
Member with 1,095 posts.

Experience: Gadget Guru
16-Oct-2008, 03:31 PM #2
You've got me confuzzled a bit on the model - are you meaning the LaserJet 3300mfp?

If it is so, and what you are hearing sounds like a mad ratchet being attacked by a chain saw, then yes, the drive gear on the main motor has cracked and needs replacing (a common problem in this particular model which was rectified in the replacement model, the 3310). The fix is rather simple, if you can get at the problem in the first place, which is opening up the lower body of the machine, removing the affending gear from the drive shaft (which should be easy, since being cracked, would allow it to pop right off) and pressing a new gear back on (which isn't easy - 'natch!).

And speaking of not easy, FINDING these parts ain't either! The 3300 isn't old enough yet to either gather many spare parts, or aftermarket goodies from the likes of fixyourownprinter.com and others... BUT I found one...

http://www.impactcomputers.com/hp-la...ssemblies.html

Hope that helps.

A-N