Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Trouble with Build

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 27 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
15-Mar-2010, 12:52 AM #1
Arrow Trouble with Build
Evening lads,
I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to creating a designing your own computer.

I had a refurbished model MB and that is what you "guys" pointed out before. So I bought and installed a new MB with an AMD processor.

Put it all together today, and literally after starting it, within a second, it shut down and smoke came from one of the components. So, my question is, why? I know that this rather vague and I am hoping that you can help in some way.

I am going to bet that I just fired my motherboard, again. If I have to buy another, that is fine. However, I would like to ask, "is there a certain way to install this to ensure that I don't blow it again?" Something I may have to switch on the PS or perhaps a particular plug I missed. I thought I had everything okay - guess not. I would love to be able to get this up and running so any and all suggestions are helpful. I would REALLY like to buy just one more MB and install it and have it run correctly. This will be the 3rd MB I will purchase for this build. Learning is living - so I'm learning as I go.

I will have attached photo's and info below.

Thanks lads.

Sincerely,
Christopher

MB = http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128394
AMD = http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103694
Case = http://www.directron.com/cs888uvbl.html#caption

Picture 1: Gigabyte piece was loose when received, and wasn't sure if it was suppose to be. However, the piece had two springs on each corner holding it to the MB, so I assumed it was suppose to.